NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING

Decorah Sustainability Commission

Wednesday, February 19, 2025, 5:45 - 7:00 pm

Public Meeting Room, Decorah Public Library

And via Zoom

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89346814274?pwd=huvAbcJgaKkle5hxeHzvFFQPUDezMm.1

AGENDA

- 1. Call to order.
- 2. Approval of January meeting minutes by Molly McNicoll
 - a. Jim Tripp takes minutes at February meeting
- 3. Updates
 - a. MEU Citizen Education Working Group
- 4. Action Items
 - a. FY 2026 estimated budget for DSC related action items
- 5. Discussion Items
 - a. Review proposed draft revisions to the Decorah Sustainability Plan
 - Air and Water
 - Land Use
- 6. Other Business
- 7. Adjourn

Decorah Sustainability Commission

Purpose

The purpose of the Sustainability Commission shall be to advise the City Council and recommend action on policies and practices that relate to the sustainable use and management of our collective resources, including both human and environmental, as well as our economic resources. The Sustainability Commission will help to ensure that such resources will be sustained and continue to provide for a high quality of life for present and future generations of Decorah doing so by following the processes outlined in the Decorah Sustainability Plan and updating the plan accordingly every 5 years.

Duties and Responsibilities

- A. Collaborate with city staff to review, evaluate, develop, and advise the City Council on policies and practices regarding the sustainable use and management of resources to include the eight categories or systems outlined in the Sustainability Plan including Energy, Transportation, Waste, Economic Development, Communication and Educational Outreach, Social Sustainability, Land Use, and Air and Water;
- B. Act as a change agent, coordinator, and educator for policies, procedures, and proposals that relate to environmental, social and economic sustainability;
- C. Engage with the Decorah community and serve as a community liaison for issues, ideas, and proposals and provide appropriate feedback;
- D. Cultivate relationships with residents, community groups, businesses, institutions of higher learning, faith-based organizations, outside government bodies, and non-governmental institutions;
- E. Serve as a resource for other Decorah commissions, boards, committees, and task forces on any issues related to sustainability;
- F. Adopt criteria and processes for making decisions about the use of resources and selection of sustainability projects;
- G. Review sustainability proposals and make recommendations; and
- H. Submit written annual work plans and progress reports to the City Council.

2025 Meeting Dates - Third Wednesday of each month, 5:45 – 7:00 pm, Public Meeting Room, Decorah Public Library

January 15, February 19, March 19, April 16, May 21, June 18, July 16, August 20, September 17, October 15, November 19, December 17, 2025

Link to Sustainability Commission Information: (Agendas and Minutes)

https://www.decorahia.org/commission-and-boards/sustainability-commission

Link to 2020 City of Decorah Sustainability Plan:

https://www.decorahia.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/Sustainability-Plan-Decorah-FINAL-MARCH-2020.pdf

Members (Ordered by Term Expiration)

	Name	Preferred Email	Term Expires
1	Jim Martin-Schramm	marschja@luther.edu	01-01-26
2	Michelle Barness	mlbarness@gmail.com	01-01-28
3	Jim Tripp	tripp@mail2jim.com	01-01-28
4	Hailey Abbey	haileyabbey@gmail.com	01-01-28
5	Jessie Joyner	jessiefla2@gmail.com	01-01-28
6	Molly McNicoll	mcnimo01@luther.edu	01-01-29
7	Aaron Detter	aarondetter@gmail.com	01-01-29
8	Ann Mansfield	amansfield736@gmail.com	01-01-30
9	Tim Wagner	dwagner9604@gmail.com	01-01-31

Sub-Committees

Subcommittee	Members (Revised January 2025)	
Energy and Climate	Jim Martin-Schramm*, Michelle Barness, Tim Wagner	
Transportation	Aaron Detter*, Ann Mansfield, Jessie Joyner	
Waste	Jim Tripp*, Jim Martin-Schramm	
Economic Development	Jim Martin-Schramm*, Jessie Joyner	
Communications and Educational Outreach	Aaron Detter, Hailey Abbey	
Social Sustainability	Ann Mansfield*, Hailey Abbey	
Land Use	Molly McNicoll*, Jim Tripp,	
Air and Water	Michelle Barness*, Molly McNicoll, Tim Wagner	

^{*} Sub-Committee Chair