Decorah Sustainability Commission

Wednesday, January 15, 2025, 5:45 – 7:00 pm

Decorah Public Library and via Zoom

Members present: Hailey Abbey, Aaron Detter, Jim Martin-Schramm (JMS), Michelle Barness, Tim Wagner, Jim Tripp, Jessie Joyner, and Ann Mansfield

Others present: Travis Goedken, John Hjelle, Alex Rosenow

- 1. Call to order. Jim Martin Schramm called the meeting to order.
- 2. Approval of December meeting minutes by Ann Mansfield
 - a. Motion made by Hailey Abbey to approve. Seconded by McNicoll. Approved unanimously.

3. Updates

- a. Welcome to commission: Tim Wagner joined for his first meeting, gave a brief background.
- Per the City Council's request, the DSC MEU Citizen Education Working Group is meeting weekly to design and implement public education initiatives related to the March 4 referendum
 - JMS update: There will be block ads in local news outlets. News ads and mailers to be coming. Aaron Detter stepped off the working group due to other commitments. The working group will not replace Detter. Karen Martin-Schramm has agreed to assist with some of the logistics of the working group.

4. Action Items

- a. Review committee assignments (see pg. 3).
 - Tim prefers to be on Air & Water and Energy. No changes to other committee assignments.
 - Motion made by JMS to approve assignments. Seconded by Tripp. Approved unanimously.
- b. Review 2025 meeting dates (see pg. 3).
 - Motion made by JMS to approve meeting dates. Seconded by Tripp. Approved unanimously.
- c. Confirm 2025 time and meeting location (5:45 7:00 pm, Public Meeting Room, Decorah Public Library.
 - Motion made by JMS to approve meeting location and time. Seconded by Mansfield.
 Approved unanimously.

5. Discussion Items

- a. Discussion for FY26 budget for the Sustainability Commission (July 2025-June 2026 Budget estimate) (Information presented by Goedken)
 - Decorah Wayfinding Routes (report passed around): Proposing to use some Sustainability funds for the wayfinding routes. Current estimate is well beyond what City Council might approve. For FY26, this would be a smaller amount. Detter suggested that

- the project is most suited to funding through the Economic Development task group because it is mostly designed for tourists or people who are new to town.
- Zero turn electric mower purchase for emissions reductions. Sustainability fund request: \$9,000
- JMS prompted task groups to think about what funding to consider for FY26 by next meeting.
- b. Review proposed draft revisions to the Decorah Sustainability Plan
 - Communication and Educational Outreach. Comments from 6:26-6:39. Comments made to document to existing and proposed new tasks.
 - Transportation. Comments from 6:40-7:00. Comments made to document to existing and proposed new tasks. Comments made regarding format bring into line with other sections.
- 6. No other business raised.
- 7. Motion made by Tripp to adjourn. Seconded by Mansfield. Approved unanimously.

Minutes drafted by Molly McNicoll

Decorah Sustainability Commission

Purpose

The purpose of the Sustainability Commission shall be to advise the City Council and recommend action on policies and practices that relate to the sustainable use and management of our collective resources, including both human and environmental, as well as our economic resources. The Sustainability Commission will help to ensure that such resources will be sustained and continue to provide for a high quality of life for present and future generations of Decorah doing so by following the processes outlined in the Decorah Sustainability Plan and updating the plan accordingly every 5 years.

Duties and Responsibilities

- A. Collaborate with city staff to review, evaluate, develop, and advise the City Council on policies and practices regarding the sustainable use and management of resources to include the eight categories or systems outlined in the Sustainability Plan including Energy, Transportation, Waste, Economic Development, Communication and Educational Outreach, Social Sustainability, Land Use, and Air and Water;
- B. Act as a change agent, coordinator, and educator for policies, procedures, and proposals that relate to environmental, social and economic sustainability;
- C. Engage with the Decorah community and serve as a community liaison for issues, ideas, and proposals and provide appropriate feedback;
- D. Cultivate relationships with residents, community groups, businesses, institutions of higher learning, faith-based organizations, outside government bodies, and non-governmental institutions;
- E. Serve as a resource for other Decorah commissions, boards, committees, and task forces on any issues related to sustainability;
- F. Adopt criteria and processes for making decisions about the use of resources and selection of sustainability projects;
- G. Review sustainability proposals and make recommendations; and
- H. Submit written annual work plans and progress reports to the City Council.

2025 Meeting Dates - Third Wednesday of each month, 5:45 – 7:00 pm, Public Meeting Room, Decorah Public Library

January 15, February 18, March 19, April 16, May 21, June 18, July 16, August 20, September 17, October 15, November 19, December 17, 2025

Link to Sustainability Commission Information: (Agendas and Minutes)

https://www.decorahia.org/commission-and-boards/sustainability-commission

Link to City of Decorah Sustainability Plan:

https://www.decorahia.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/Sustainability-Plan-Decorah-FINAL-MARCH-2020.pdf

Members (Ordered by Term Expiration)

	Name	Preferred Email	Term Expires
1	Jim Martin-Schramm	marschja@luther.edu	01-01-26
2	Michelle Barness	mlbarness@gmail.com	01-01-28
3	Jim Tripp	tripp@mail2jim.com	01-01-28
4	Hailey Abbey	haileyabbey@gmail.com	01-01-28
5	Jessie Joyner	jessiefla2@gmail.com	01-01-28
6	Molly McNicoll	mcnimo01@luther.edu	01-01-29
7	Aaron Detter	aarondetter@gmail.com	01-01-29
8	Ann Mansfield	amansfield736@gmail.com	01-01-30
9	Tim Wagner	dwagner9604@gmail.com	01-01-31

Sub-Committees

Subcommittee	Members (Revised May 2024)	
Energy	Jim Martin-Schramm*, Michelle Barness	
Transportation	Aaron Detter*, Ann Mansfield, Jessie Joyner	
Waste	Jim Tripp*, Jeremy Leitz , Jim Martin-Schramm	
Economic Development	Jim Martin-Schramm*, Jessie Joyner	
Communications and Educational Outreach	Jeremy Leitz*, Aaron Detter, Hailey Abbey	
Social Sustainability	Ann Mansfield*, Hailey Abbey	
Land Use	Molly McNicoll*, Jim Tripp,	
Air and Water	Michelle Barness*, Molly McNicoll	

^{*} Sub-Committee Chair